top of page

13 Weeks of Wandering – Destination: Bangkok

Updated: Jul 18, 2019

Bangkok | Cambodia | Vietnam | Laos New York >> Miami | Portland >> Vancouver

 

Where To? Bangkok How long? 3 days (don’t worry, I’ll be back) Status: Tired and unwell but caught up on all the new movies!

 

13WoW – Destination: Bangkok


One Wedding, a Thousand Emotions

Friday night was spent celebrating the marriage of two amazing colleagues who couldn’t be better suited, and it couldn’t feel further from reality that I would be on a flight only hours after I left the party.

The happy couple


As they do, things got emotional at the wedding – especially the grooms heartfelt speech. And it wasn’t long before I was also tearing up as I got a (slightly drunk) pep talk from my sweet colleague and friend warning me to be safe and telling me how proud she was of me. (Love you Lozza! X)

Still not sure what to feel, excited, scared or sad, I arrived home at 11.30pm, finished off a number or last minute details until 2am and then left for Heathrow at 5am.


Heathrow >> Doha >> Bangkok


The first leg of the journey was straightforward. I chose to get my main backpack wrapped in wierd cellophane type stuff even though I had actually figured out a way of locking my bag liner. That was £12 but it was “£11 for you because you are so beautiful” so apparently it wasn’t a waste of time applying makeup at 4 in the morning!

It’s a massive pain trying to get that stuff off the other end though, especially as they don’t seem to have many sharp objects lying around at airports (shocking right?!). I used a pen in the end (hope they don’t read this and ban pens)!


So proud of myself for resisting the temptation to buy stuff at the airport other than a bottle of water and some tablets because I wasn’t feeling well. Was so annoyed; trying to be “good”, I didn’t take advantage of the free bar the night before wanting to avoid exactly this!

Stopping briefly in Doha, I was able to speed walk (not quite run) to my next gate in time to sit for a few minutes and catch up on social media.


Unlike my first flight, where I had a row of seats to myself and was able to sleep, I tried to be nice to the airline and book an odd seat at the end of a row in case a family needed the row. Big mistake! I looked on longingly as I saw another girl sleeping peacefully across the free seats I could have booked.

5 movies, 2 planes and 1 full Sia album later, I arrived in Bangkok!


More Travel Posts Here.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page