top of page

Beaches to Florida

The time had finally come for me to enter my destination state; Florida. Waving goodbye to Georgia as I left St. Marys & the Okefenokee swamp behind me, I set the sat nav on my cheap ZTE to Jacksonville with a *ahem* small detour via the scenic coast road.


Amelia Island

Well, I wasn’t going to step into Florida without first checking out its famous beaches! So Amelia Island seemed a perfect first stop on the way down.


It wasn’t a disappointing view with endless sand stretched out before me and mini rivers forming in the indentations carved into the beach by the waves. That’s where I met this little man, sunbathing in the perfect spot only just submerged in the water forming part of the mini river. Giving this star a little stroke, I realised he was soft but a little furry and probably didn’t want to be bothered. So I left him to enjoy his little paradise and took some time to enjoy mine.

There were some large hotels side by side on the beach, although not so many people. A few deck chairs and umbrellas set up were the signs of holiday makers while tyre tracks on the ground told me a vehicle had passed through not long before.


A long stroll, brief dip of my toes and relaxing lie down had me ready for the next leg of my journey to Jacksonville Beach.

Jacksonville

Highway A1A, Jacksonville, Florida

The coast road, Highway A1A, was beautiful on the way to Jacksonville. So beautiful in fact that I had to make a second stop just off the highway!


I realised I probably wasn’t technically allowed to stop, but I had never seen beaches so pure white and so empty as this!

Two Men Fishing. Highway A1A, Jacksonville, Florida

Only two others had ventured onto this beach, they were a father and son from Jacksonville and they were fishing. They hadn’t been having any luck so far, and hoped I would bring them some luck. Unfortunately, I did not! But it was great chatting to them and learning of their plans of a boat trip the following day.


I wished them luck before continuing my journey.

The City

The Jacksonville Landing, Florida

I booked a night in a local Air BnB,  and when I turned up I was met by a cool guy who invited me to do my laundry and pet his snake. As fun as that all sounded, I thought I’d head into Jax to check out the scene there instead.


Parking by the river, the city lights reflected against the water giving a real “big city” vibe and I cautiously walked towards the landing alone. Fairy lights outlining the trees meant that I was definitely getting close to where it would all be happening in the city.

I was surprised at what I did find; most shops, restaurants and bars were shut but there seemed to be a big biker community hanging out on the landing. Live music was playing, drinks being served in a bar-truck and people sitting in the square. Harley-Davidsons lined the streets where bikers had parked and headed to the landing to hang out together.


Making friends with some nomads, I chatted for a little while before heading back to the Air BnB. Though it was a cool place to chill, I didn’t feel particularly safe on my own.

The Jax Beach

The next day, I thought I’d try my luck at the Jacksonville Beach to see if I’d enjoy the vibe there a little more than I had the night before.


First up, I came across the Beaches Museum & History Park which is supposed to have informative exhibits on the historic beach community. Although the museum was closed, one exhibit of an old steam train caught my eye through its glass walls.

Sunflowers by the Beaches Museum, JAX

But, actually, I found out that Jacksonville had more than a dozen museums and art galleries for lovers of history & art. I preferred to work on my tan on the beautiful white beaches…

Ocean Bar & Grill, JAX Beach

For lunch, I went to a beachside bar/restaurant, the Ocean Grill & Bar, which served me the most delicious vegan tacos. Then, some more beach time had me ready to carry on to my next destination. But I hadn’t expected to be abruptly stopped en route.

Ponte Vedra

Florida is lush with wildlife, only a day into hanging out in Florida and I’d already come across a star fish and a [pet] snake. So I shouldn’t really have been surprised when there were signs on the coastal road that I was driving along warning of turtles crossing. But when I was cruising along and saw a tortoise in the middle of the road, slowly making its way across, I could also see the car speeding towards me directly in the tortoise’s path. Without a second thought, I slammed my breaks and jumped out of the car holding my hand up to the other car in (what I hoped was) an authoritative way bringing it to a complete halt. I then picked up the tortoise and wandered to the nearest house, assuming it was a pet. Because, over in the UK, tortoises are always pets!

As I waited by the huge mansion holding this wriggling guy and warning him never to try and cross the road again, a lady answered the door understandably confused. I tried to explain how I’d found him and asked if it belonged to them, she looked at me as if I was mad and said, “No, they live in the hand dunes by the side of the road”. #awk


So I wandered deep into the sand dunes and released my new friend back into his home with multiple warnings about the dangers of crossing roads. I’m sure he understood and went back to his friends to warn them too.

St Augustine-Vilano Beach

Vilano Beach, Florida

So, my coast tour continued and I took a well needed break on the Vilano beach. Another nearly deserted beach, with one woman scouring the coast with a metal detector and digging up the sand in random places.

I enjoyed the peaceful sound of the waves as they gently lapped the shore, even the call of the odd gull didn’t annoy me the way they do in Brighton when they are after your food.


Opening my book, I soaked up those moments of pure tranquillity and mentally decided that this was one of the faves.


The journey continued…

Daytona 

Pier at Daytona Beach

At this point, I’d decided I would end up in Orlando, after all, it is a popular Florida city. But I had one more little stop to make on the way; Daytona beach!


Daytona was described online as one of the beaches not to miss, and when I approached the buzzing pier with its fair ground and roller coaster rides, I could see why.

The sun was setting by this point, which offered great views of the pier and the ocean. A man with a rake carved a  message into the damp sand for those hanging around on their pier to read; an advertisement of some description.

Daytona Beach

This was far from the quiet, tranquil beaches I had enjoyed on the journey so far but it had an excited buzz that had been missing from the others.


I decided to grab a bite at a nearby restaurant along with a cheeky drink, and watched the sun set as I sat by the river at the Sunsetters Bar & Grill.

Sunsetters Bar & Grill

The city lights started to reflect on the river and I knew I had to make a move if I wanted to check into my next destination on time.


Next stop: Orlando!



 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page