top of page

New Year, New Home




What a year 2019 has been, so many ups and downs, good times and bad times. As the start of a new decade approached, I saw friends and family sharing their sweet highlights of the last ten years. I tried to think of my own ten year summary, but part of me was afraid to revisit some of the things I've been through these past years, and even so true this year. But if I look back and compare myself from where I was then, to where I am now, it's utterly undeniable that the trials I've been through have shaped who I am today. Each and every failure, obstacle and heartbreak form pieces of the foundation that I am standing on today.


If I was to share my biggest learn of the decade, it's that failure is not a stumbling block but a stepping stone to success. So I'm gonna say thank you to every stumbling block that was thrown at me, and I'd like to say thank you to every helping hand that pulled me up each time. Finally, I'd like to take a moment and celebrate me now. Celebrate the achievements that I never imagined would be possible as I posed for my first photo of 2009 in the bedroom of one of my best friends.


I've travelled the world, twenty-three countries to be exact, worked my way up in one career, switched careers and worked my way up in another career, started this blog, volunteered, hung out with movie stars, models & authors, learned to ride a motorbike, learned to play the guitar and now I've bought my first ever property!


Everything fell into place around Christmas time, I completed on the 18th, picked keys up on 21st (with my first car load of stuff), packed on boxing day and after unloading a further two car loads, spent the following three days painting with help from the most wonderful landlords/adopted parents/friends that I've had the privilege of spending the last four years with. I still have loads of stuff to take (it makes me wonder how I fit it all into one room)!


It's been a long, exhausting process getting here (and I will be writing about it all in the hopes I can help someone else get on the first rung of the ladder), and I couldn't have done it without the kick I needed to get started, and the support I needed to follow it through. But I'm so excited and thankful to be starting 2020 in a new home, a new city and with new opportunities ahead of me.


Here's to the new decade! Cheers everyone!


Love,


Mary-Daisy x

224 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page